H.H. Arnold Award Recipients

List of H.H. Arnold Award Recipients

1948 W. Stuart Symington
Secretary of the Air Force

1949 Major General William H. Tunner
and the Men of the Berlin Airlift

1950 Airmen of the United Nations
in the Far East

1951 Lieutenant General Curtis E. LeMay and the
Personnel of Strategic Air Command

1952 Senators Lyndon B. Johnson (Texas)
and Joseph C. O'Mahoney (Wyoming)

1953 General Hoyt S. Vandenberg
Former Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force

1954 John Foster Dulles
Secretary of State

1955 General Nathan F. Twining
Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force

1956 Senator W. Stuart Symington

1957 Edward P. Curtis
Special Assistant to the President

1958 Major General Bernard A. Schriever
Commander, Air Force Ballistic Missile Division
Air Research and Development Command

1959 General Thomas S. Power
Commander in Chief, Strategic Air Command

1960 General Thomas D. White
Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force

1961 Lyle S. Garlock
Assistant Secretary of the Air Force
for Financial Management

1962 Dr. A. C. Dickieson and
John R. Pierce
Bell Telephone Laboratories

1963 363rd Tactical Recon. Wing,
Tactical Air Command,
4080th Strategic Wing
Strategic Air Command

1964 General Curtis E. LeMay
Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force

1965 Second Air Division,
Pacific Air Forces

1966 8th, 12th, 355th, 366th and 388th
Tactical Fighter Wings; 432nd and
460th Tactical Reconnaissance Wings

1967 General William W. Momyer
Commander, 7th AF, Pacific Air Forces

1968 Apollo 8 Crew: Colonel Frank Borman,
Captain James Lovell and
Lieutenant Colonel William Anders

1969 No Convention

1970 Apollo II Team: J. L. Atwood,
Lieutenant General Samuel C. Phillips,
Neil Armstrong, Colonel Edwin E.
Aldrin, Jr., and Colonel Michael Collins

1971 Dr. John S. Foster, Jr., Director
of Defense Research and Engineering

1972 Air Units of the Allied Forces in SEA
(Air Force, Navy, Army, Marine Corps
and the Vietnamese Air Force)

1973 General John D. Ryan
Retired Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force

1974 General George S. Brown,
Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff

1975 James R. Schlesinger,
Secretary of Defense

1976 Senator Barry M. Goldwater

1977 Senator Howard W. Cannon

1978 General Alexander M. Haig, Jr., USA
Supreme Allied Commander

1979 Senator John C. Stennis

1980 General Richard H. Ellis
Commander in Chief, Strategic Air Command

1981 General David C. Jones
Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff

1982 General Lew Allen, Jr.
Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force

1983 Ronald W. Reagan
President of the United States

1984 The Scowcroft Commission,
Accepting: Lieutenant General Brent Scowcroft

1985 General Bernard W. Rogers
Supreme Allied Commander of
Europe, SHAPE

1986 General Charles A. Gabriel
Retired Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force

1987 Admiral William J. Crowe, Jr., USN,
Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff

1988 The Men and Women of the

1989 General Larry D. Welch
Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force

1990 General John T. Chain, Jr.
Commander in Chief, Strategic Air Command

1991 Lieutenant General Charles A. Horner
Commander, Central Command
Air Forces and 9th AF

1992 General Colin L. Powell, USA
Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff

1993 General Merrill A. McPeak
Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force

1994 General John M. "Mike" Loh
Commander, Air Combat Command

1995 World War II Veterans
Accepted by John Alison

1996 General Ronald R. Fogleman
Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force

1997 Men and Women of the USAF
Accepted by:
Secretary of the Air Force, Sheila E.Widnall;
Vice Chief of Staff, General Ralph E. Eberhart, and
Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force, Eric W. Benken

1998 General Richard E. Hawley
Commander, Air Combat Command

1999 Lieutenant General Michael C. Short
Commander, Allied Forces
Southern Europe, NATO

2000 General Michael E. Ryan
Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force

2001 General Joseph W. Ralston
Commander in Chief, U.S. European Command,
Supreme Allied Commander Europe, NATO

2002 General Richard B. Myers
Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff

2003 Lieutnant General T. Michael Moseley
Air Component Commander, U.S. Central Command and Commander, 9th Air Force

2004 Gen. John P. Jumper
Chief of Staff of the Air Force

2005 Gen Gregory S. 'Speedy' Martin
Commander, Air Force Material Command
Wright-Patterson AFB OH

2006 Gen. Lance Lord
Former Commander, Air Force Space Command

2007 - General Ronald E. Keys
Commander, Air Combat Command, USAF

2008 - Bruce Carlson, Gen, USAF
Commander, Air Force Materiel Command

2009 - General John D.W. Corley
Commander, Air Combat Command and
Air Component Commander for U.S. Joint Forces Command

2010 - Lieutenant General David A. Deptula
Deputy Chief of Staff, Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance
Headquarters United States Air Force

2011 - Duncan J. McNabb, Gen, USAF
Scott AFB, Illinois

2012 - Norton A. Schwartz, Gen, USAF
Chief of Staff U.S. Air Force
Washington, District of Columbia

2013 - Gen Douglas M. Fraser

2014 - Gen C. Robert Kehler, USAF (Ret.)
Former Commander, U.S. Strategic Command