Hoyt S. Vandenberg Award Recipients

List of Hoyt S. Vandenberg Award Recipients

1948 Jacqueline Cochran
Aviatrix; Women's Airforce Service Pilot

1949 Captain James Gallagher and The
men behind the flight of the Lucky Lady II

1950 D. W. Rentzel
Administrator, Civil Aviation Authority

1951 General Carl A. Spaatz
First Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force

1952 General Hoyt S. Vandenberg
Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force

1953 Lieutenant General James H. Doolittle
U.S. Air Force (Retired), pilot, soldier scientist

1954 Gill Robb Wilson
Air Force Association

1955 Major General Lucas V. Beau,
Civil Air Patrol

1956 Arthur Godfrey
Columbia Broadcasting System

1957 General George C. Kenney
U.S. Air Force (Retired)

1958 Ralph J. Cordiner
Chairman, Military Pay Study Committee

1959 Dr. Frank E. Sorensen
University of Nebraska

1960 Dr. Wayne O. Reed, Deputy
Commissioner, U.S. Office of Education

1961..Dr. Charles H. Boehm,
Superintendent of Public Instruction, PA

1962 Dr. Lindley J. Stiles
Dean, School of Education, University of Wisconsin

1963 Brigadier General Robert F. McDermott
Dean of Faculty, U.S. Air Force Academy

1964 Aerospace Presentation Team
Air University

1965 Brigadier General William C. Lindley
Commandant, Air Force ROTC

1966 Dr. B. F. Skinner
Harvard University

1967 Not Presented

1968 Marion B. Folson
Former Secretary, Health Education & Welfare

1969 No Convention

1970 Lieutenant General Selmon W. Wells
Inspector General, U.S. Air Force

1971 Rep. F. Edward Hebert
House of Representatives (Louisiana)

1972 Major Richard L. Craft
Headquarters Tactical Air Command

1973 Community College of the Air Force

1974 Lieutenant Colonel Gregory J. Butler
U.S. Air Force

1975 Aerospace Audiovisual Service
Norton AFB, CA

1976 David P. Taylor
Assistant Secretary of Defense (Manpower & Reserve Affairs)

1977 USAF School of Aerospace Medicine
Brooks AFB, Texas

1978 Air Force Orientation Group
Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio

1979 USAF Special Operations School
Hurlburt Field, FL

1980 Air Force Institute of Technology
Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio

1981 Lieutenant General Ira C. Eaker
U.S.Air Force (Retired), Washington, D.C.

1982 James H. Straubel
Fairfax Station, VA

1983 Inter-American Air Force Academy
Howard AFB, Panama

1984 Lieutenant General J. B. McPherson
U.S. Air Force (Retired), Alexandria, VA

1985 Chief Master Sergeants of the Air Force
Accepted by CMSAF Sam Parish

1986 Harold R. Bacon
Director Aerospace Education, Headquarters Civil Air Patrol
Maxwell AFB, AL

1987 Colonel Constantine A. Pappas
Maxwell AFB, AL

1988 Douglas Community Partnership Council,
Ellsworth AFB, SD

1989 Young Astronaut Program
Washington, D.C.

1990 Rep. S. V. "Sonny" Montgomery
Representative (Mississippi)

1991 Master Sergeant William H. Moon
Presidio of Monterey, CA

1992 Dr. Earl H. Tilford, Jr.
Maxwell AFB, AL

1993Lieutenant General Bradley C. Hosmer
U.S. Air Force Academy, CO

1994 Community College of the Air Force
Maxwell AFB, AL

1995 Lieutenant General Jay W. Kelley
Air University, Maxwell AFB, AL

1996 Harold C. Stuart

1997 United States Air Force 50th
Anniversary Team. Accepted by
Colonel Mary M. Tripp

1998 Air Force Institute of Technology
Graduate School of Engineering
Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio

1999 Detachment 2, U.S. Air Force Air Ground Operations School
Ft. Irwin, CA

2000 Advanced Education & Training Branch
Headquarters Space Warfare Center, Schriever AFB, CO

2001 Aerospace Basic Course
Maxwell AFB, AL

2002 Civil Air Patrol Aerospace Education Program
Maxwell AFB, AL

2003 HQ Air Education and Training Command (AETC)
Technical Training Division
Randolph AFB, Texas

2004 362nd Training Squadron
Sheppard Air Force Base, Texas

2005 Steven Udvar-Hazy
Chairman and CEO of International Lease Finance Corp
Los Angeles, CA

2006 Albert Scott Crossfield (Posthumously)
Aviator, Test pilot, Engineer, Businessman
Herndon, Va.

2007 - Mr. Ross Perot, Jr.
Perot Systems Corporation
Plano, Texas

2008 - William R. Looney, III, Gen, USAF
Commander, Air Education and Training Command
Stephen R. Lorenz, Gen, USAF
New Commander, Air Education and Training Command

2009 - Mr. Robert F. Collings
Founder of The Collings Foundation

2010 - CyberPatriot
Recognizing CIAS and SAIC as founding partners and
Northrop Grumman as presenting sponsor

2011 - Dana H. Born, Brig Gen, USAF
And the Collaborative Undergraduate Education Programs at the
United States Air Force Academy
Colorado Springs, Colorado

2012 - USAF Weapons School
Nellis AFB, Nevada

2013 - The USA Science & Engineering Festival

2014 - The Los Angeles Unified School District
"Beyond the Bell" Branch