AFA Awards Top-Performing Airmen, Guardians, and Cadets in Minnesota

April 30, 2024

AFA’s Gen. E.W. Rawlings Chapter in Minnesota hosted their annual awards dinner on April 5 at the University of St. Thomas in St. Paul, Minn. A total of 23 awards were presented to Air Guard, Air Force Reserves, ROTC, JROTC, and Civil Air Patrol outstanding performers from across the state of Minnesota. The event culminated with the presentation of the State Teacher of the Year award to Scott Shaffer of Minnetonka High School’s Aviation Program.

The keynote speaker for the event was former Chief Master Sergeant of the Space Force Roger A. Towberman. 

Other distinguished attendees included Col. Samuel Kramer, 934th AW/CC; Col. Mike Piontek, 133d AW/CV; Chief Master Sgt. Lisa Erickson, Command Senior Enlisted Advisor to the Adjutant General, MN NG; Chris “Thrasher” Canada, AFA’s Vice Chair of the Board for Field Operations; Janelle Stafford, AFA’s Central Region Board Director; Dan Murphy, AFA’s North Central Region President; and Larry Stagstetter, AFA’s Minnesota State President.

Col. Roman Hund, USAF (Ret.), the AFA Gen. E.W. Rawlings Chapter President, presents a gift from the chapter to former Chief Master Sergeant of the Space Force Roger A. Towberman.