Meet Our Staff

Executive Office

Bruce Wright

President & CEO

As the Air & Space Forces Association’s top executive, General Wright directs the association’s professional staff. He is responsible for the management and operations of AFA and its 100,000-plus members, and he serves as the publisher of Air & Space Forces Magazine, the official journal of the Air & Space Forces Association.

Retiring as a three-star general, Wright spent 34 years in the Air Force. His last assignment was Commander of 5th Air Force and U.S. Forces Japan… Read More

Douglas L. Raaberg

Executive Vice President

General Raaberg is Executive Vice President, Air & Space Forces Association, providing strategic direction to AFA as the premier professional military and aerospace education association in the nation.  He serves with the AFA President in their commitment to supporting Airmen, Guardians, and their families around the globe.   

Doug is an accomplished business executive and defense leader with a proven record of transforming vision into strategy to deliver innovative results… Read More

LeSean Carey — Director of Strategic Action

Thomas Shero — Administrative Assistant

Air & Space Forces Magazine

Tobias Naegele — Editor in Chief

Chequita Wood — Assistant Managing Editor

John Tirpak — Editorial Director

Greg Hadley — News Editor

Chris Gordon — Pentagon Editor

Mike Tsukamoto — Photo Editor

Dashton Parham — Senior Designer

Eric Lee — Production Manager

David Roza — Staff Writer

Unshin Lee Harpley — Reporter


Amy Hudson — Communications Director

Patrick Reardon — Communications Manager

Kyle Lee — Videographer/Video Editor

Jud McCrehin — Studio Manager

Creative Services

Zaur Eylanbekov — Creative Director

STEM Education Programs

Stuart Pettis — Director of Aerospace Education Programs


Rachel Zimmerman — Senior Director, Business Operations

Frank Zaborowski — Senior Director, CyberPatriot Operations

Lisa O’Loughlin — Manager, CyberPatriot Competition Systems

Tyonna Andrews — Coordinator, Program Administration

Franz “Alex” Epp — Coordinator, Competition Operations

Lauren Murray — Specialist, Cyber Education

Lisa Ferencak — Manager, Program Engagement and Outreach

Taylor Crouch — Specialist, CyberPatriot


Rebecca Dalton — Director, StellarXplorers Operations

Alexander Edgar — Manager, StellarXplorers Program Administration

Jessica Robertson — Program Manager


Rob Clapper — Chief Development Officer

Julie Siegel — Director of Development

Leslie Mazeska — Senior Director of Development

Katie Ibraliu — Director of ShopAFA

Helen Mercedes — Development Coordinator

Paul Schneider — Individual Giving Manager

Doolittle Leadership Center

Patrick Donley, PhD. — Director

Luke Forister — Operations Manager


Joseph Stangl — Chief Financial Officer

Yetta Hughes — Director of Finance

Michael Price — Staff Account, Accounts Payable

Eric Phillips — Accounting Manager

Human Resources/Administration

Sharrón Dean — Senior Director Human Resources/Administration​​​​​

Alyssa Goodwin — Human Resources Specialist / Talent Engagement and Outreach

Brian McNeil — Specialist, HR Benefits

Information Technology

Tony Witzel — Deputy CIO

David Huynh — Senior Network Administrator

Ted Yorkshire — Senior Multimedia Manager

Evan Hines — IT Director

Casey Allison — Business Solutions Engineer

Legislative Affairs

William Castle — Vice President, Legislative Affairs

Kassidy Lemminn — Legislative Affairs Policy Coordinator

Events & Operations

Amanda Grandel — Vice President, Events & Operations

Connie Lau — Coordinator, Events

Katie Storm — Senior Manager, Event Registration

Christy Sitter — Director of Sales

Jenna Ladd — Manager, Event Speaker and Communications

Cynthia Escobedo — Senior Manager, Events and Operations

Craig Duclos — Manager, Event Protocol

Joe “JP” Plantamura — Media and Event Activation Manager

Vinson Povlitz — Sales Coordinator

Member & Field Relations

Kari Voliva — Vice President, Member & Field Relations

Christine Brown — Senior Manager, Community Outreach

Kris Phillips — Director, Volunteer Engagement

Abigail Remy — Director, Membership Operations

Joseph Peel — Manager, Aerospace Education

Alex Panduro — Coordinator, Corporate Membership

Miranda Roberts — Coordinator, Board and Volunteer Support

Amanda Lewis — Coordinator, Community Outreach

Sharon Baldwin — Junior Salesforce Administrator

Mitchell Institute for Aerospace Studies

Lt. Gen. David Deptula, USAF (Ret.) — Dean

Douglas Birkey — Executive Director

Gen. Kevin P. Chilton (Ret.) — Explorer Chair, Mitchell Institute for Aerospace Studies Spacepower Advantage Research Center (MI-SPARC)

Maj. Gen. Larry Stutzriem, USAF (Ret.) — Director, Research

Mark Gunzinger — Director, Future Concepts & Capability Assessments

Heather Penney — Senior Resident Fellow

John “Mike” Dahm — Senior Resident Fellow for Aerospace and China Studies

Charles Galbreath — Senior Resident Fellow for Space Studies, Spacepower Advantage Center of Excellence (MI-SPACE)

Kamilla Gunzinger — Senior Program Director

Shane Thin — Digital Media Content Assistant

Aidan Poling — Research Analyst

Ana Maria Waldo — Operations Coordinator