Chairman of the Board

Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force (retired) Gerald Murray has been involved with AFA as a board member, chapter president and delegate for 15 years.  

Murray also serves on the USAA Board of Directors, the Air Force Museum Foundation Board of Trustees, the Air Force Enlisted Village Board of Directors, and the Airmen Memorial Foundation Board of Directors.  In previous years, he served on the Air Force University Board of Visitors, Armed Forces Benefit Association Board of Directors, and as Co-Chairman of the Air Force Retiree Council...

Jim Simons

Vice Chairman of the Board, Field Operations

James received his commission in the United States Army from Michigan State University in 1976.  He served as a Military Policeman for his entire career.  His assignments ranged from the United States to seven years in West Germany. Highlights include Platoon Leader, Company Commander, Deputy Installation Provost Marshal, Battalion Operations Officer, Community Provost Marshal, and Battalion Executive Officer.  He retired in 1994.  His awards include the Meritorious Service Medal, Army Commendation Medal, Army Achievement Medal, the Parachutist Badge, and Ranger Tab...

Jim Hannam

Vice Chairman of the Board, Aerospace Education

Jim Hannam, Vice Chairman of the Board for Aerospace Education, is the volunteer leader guiding the overall direction of the AFA Education Mission and overseeing its Aerospace Education Programs. An AFA Life Member, he joined AFA in 1976. He serves in the Executive Committee of the DW Steele Chapter, and previously as Steele Chapter President, Virginia State Secretary, Central East Region President, AFA Board of Directors, Long Range Planning Committee, Chairman of the Strategic Planning Committee, and for the last many years,  Vice Chairman of the Aerospace Education Council. AFA awards include the Medal of Merit, Exceptional Service Award, President's and Chairman's Award, and AFA Member of the Year...

Richard W. Hartle


Richard W. Hartle, Layton, UT. Rick is a Life Member of the Air Force Association and has served as a Chapter President, State President, board chair of the Utah Aerospace Education Foundation and twice on the AFA Board of Directors as a Director at Large. Mr. Hartle graduated from New Mexico State University with a degree in Electrical Engineering. He recently retired from a 35 year career with The Boeing Company as Director of Business Development for the company’s Directed Energy and Strategic Systems programs. While with Boeing, he worked on Department of Defense and Air Force programs for nearly 30 years. He remains deeply engaged in his community in support of many volunteer interests.  Rick serves on the boards of the Utah Defense Alliance, the Strategic Deterrent Coalition, SIMX LLC and is the Treasurer and former Chair of the Top of Utah Military Affairs Committee Executive Board...

Chuck Martin


Chuck Martin, National Treasurer, is the volunteer leader overseeing the financial affairs of the Association, exercising and performing the duties assigned by the Constitution and the Operations and Procedures Manual. The Treasurer chairs the Finance Committee and serves as a member of the Executive Committee. He works closely with the Chairman and confers regularly with the President, Chief Financial Officer, Executive Vice President, and other key staff, as appropriate...

Bruce "Orville" Wright


As the Air Force Association’s top executive, General Wright directs the association's professional staff. He is responsible for the management and operations of AFA and its 97,000 members, and he serves as the publisher of Air Force Magazine, the official journal of the Air Force Association.

Retiring as a three-star general, Wright spent 34 years in the Air Force. His last assignment was Commander of 5th Air Force and U.S. Forces Japan...

Douglas L. Raaberg

Executive Vice President

General Raaberg is Executive Vice President, Air Force Association, providing strategic direction to AFA as the premier professional military and aerospace education association in the nation.  He serves with the AFA President in their commitment to supporting Airmen and their families around the globe.   

Doug is an accomplished business executive and defense leader with a proven record of transforming vision into strategy to deliver innovative results...

AFA’s Field Operations are organized into geographic areas led by Region Presidents. The Region organization is not an operational unit but each President has coordination, administrative, and leadership responsibility for state organizations and is the senior representative for AFA within its geographical boundaries. 

  • Ken Spencer, Central East Region (Maryland, Delaware, District of Columbia, Virginia, West Virginia)
  • Wayne Kauffman, Far West Region (California, Hawaii, Guam)
  • Mark ChapmanFlorida Region (Florida, Puerto Rico)
  • Tom Koogler, Great Lakes Region (Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio)
  • Chris Canada, Midwest Region (Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska)
  • Kevin Grady, New England Region (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont)
  • Dan Murphy, North Central Region (Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin)
  • Patrick KonNortheast Region (New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania)
  • Jeff Putnam, Northwest Region (Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington)
  • Linda Aldrich, Rocky Mountain Region (Colorado, Utah, Wyoming)
  • Teresa AndersonSouth Central Region (Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee)
  • Jackie Trotter, Southeast Region (Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina)
  • Roberta Oates, Southwest Region (Arizona, Nevada, New Mexico)
  • Paul Weseloh, Texoma Region (Oklahoma, Texas)

AFA is also represented overseas by Marc Granville (EuropeJeremy Nickel (Pacific)

AFA’s Board of Directors includes 9 elected National Directors and up to three additional directors appointed by the Chairman of the Board. The immediate past retired Air Force Chairman or Vice Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, the immediate past retired Chief of Staff of the United States Air Force, and the immediate past retired Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force are also invited to serve as directors.

  • Joseph M. Burke
  • Lisa S. Disbrow
  • Mark "Buster" Douglas
  • Robert George
  • David Goldfein
  • Stephen Gourley
  • Lesley Kalan
  • Michael J. Liquori
  • Gavin "Mac" MacAloon
  • Susan Mallett
  • Molly Mae Potter
  • Roger W. Teague
  • Len Vernamonti
  • Kaleth O. Wright

  • L. Boyd Anderson
  • R. Donald Anderson
  • John T. Brock
  • David L. Blankenship
  • Bonnie B. Callahan
  • George H. Chabbott
  • Stephen P. “Pat” Condon
  • William D Croom Jr
  • Julie Curlin
  • Jon R. Donnelly
  • Michael J. Dugan
  • Michael M. Dunn
  • Charles G. Durazo
  • Justin M. Faiferlick
  • Edward W. Garland
  • Richard B. Goetze, Jr.
  • Dan Hendrickson
  • Victoria W. Hunnicutt
  • Leonard W. Isabelle
  • Thomas J. Kemp
  • Robert E. "Bob" Largent
  • James "Jim" Lauducci
  • Hans Mark
  • William V. McBride 
  • James M. McCoy
  • Thomas J. McKee
  • Craig R. McKinley 
  • Charles A. Nelson
  • Ellis Nottingham
  • Whit Peters
  • John J. Politi
  • S. Sanford Schlitt
  • Vic Seavers
  • Mary Ann Seibel-Porto
  • Joan Sell
  • John A. Shaud
  • R.E. “Gene” Smith
  • Jack H. Steed
  • Robert G. Stein
  • Joseph E. Sutter
  • Mary Anne Thompson
  • Scott Van Cleef
  • Leonard R. Vernamonti
  • Jerry White
  • Charles P. Zimkas, Jr.

  • National Chaplain, Howard Stendahl
  • National Commander Arnold Air Society, Tilo Moeller
  • National President Silver Wings, Michael Thompson
  • President of AFA,  Bruce A. Wright
  • Past Chairman of AFA, F. Whitten Peters